Corning a Tongue

Ok, so I’ve picked up some weird things at the market in the past few years. Inspired in part by Fergus Henderson, Michael Symon, and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, I’ve bought kidneys, sweetbreads, pig’s ears, trotters, calves brains, bone marrow, and liver (and those things aren’t terribly exotic anymore). Up to this point, the ears were the strangest thing that I had cooked. Chef Symon’s Crispy Pig’s Ears were a big hit last winter. I even served them at my Super Bowl party, alongside Fergus Henderson’s Roasted Bone Marrow with Parsley Salad. (Sorry kids, we’re all out of nachos. Here, have a crispy pig’s ear.) The poached and breaded calves brains (although not served at the Super Bowl) were also really good — a new texture for me, sure — but unctuous, crispy, and quite nice. All three things I’d make again.

But this tongue…

one beef tongue, ready for a bath

…it just really looks a lot like a huge tongue. Which it is. A quick trip yesterday down to Arthur Avenue was a big success. Pork belly, ribs, pig’s ears, beef tongue, some salami from the Calabria Pork Store, olives from Teitel Brothers. Okay, it wasn’t a terribly quick trip, because my car died on the way out of the Bronx. But that’s a story for another day.

So I’m counting on the transformative power of the brine to work its old school magic on this thing. That, and a little of Hank’s Mustard, some of my sauerkraut, and perhaps some homemade rye bread next weekend, and I think we’ll have the makings of a pretty great sandwich.

About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in brine, charcutepalooza, field trips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Corning a Tongue

  1. lae says:

    hallooo! the toungue is a glorious muscle. once you have prepared one- you will most like end up preparing many. my favourite? utilising it in tacos. i’ve not ever corned one before, but i started mine yesterday for charcutepalooza. ; )

    can i get an invite to your next superbowl party? imean… marrow, ears… the best things all in one place- with football? tres bien.

    i want to hear the car story.

  2. Meredith says:

    Cool idea! I want to try that using the pastrami recipe in Ruhlman’s book.

  3. Scott says:

    @lae, I think a Charcutepalooza Super Bowl Potluck would be a great idea! Who knows what else would show up on the menu, but I’m sure it would be good. I’d love to try the tongue tacos. Do you braise and grill them?

    @Meredith, The pastrami recipe from Charcuterie is terrific, and I usually set aside a bit of the brisket for that. Not sure I’ll smoke this tongue, but some suggestions on how to do at from Chris at The Butcher The Baker: http://www.thebutcherthebaker.net/2011/01/corned-beef-tongue.html

  4. Pingback: Building the Perfect Reuben | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

  5. Pingback: Crispy Pig’s Ears | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

Leave a Reply

