Ramp chimichurri

This came together pretty quickly: a handful of foraged ramps (bulbs and leaves), plus a few springs of fresh thyme and mint, finely chopped. I used a bit more olive oil than I would for a pesto, and added a generous splash or two of apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper, and a shake of chili flakes. If I had a lemon I would have added some zest.

20130503-200020.jpg

Very happy with how this turned out. With a few steaks, pan-fried potatoes, sautéed spinach, and a glass of red wine, the boys and I had our own Friday night steakhouse dinner. Not a bad evening in!

About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in condiments, recipes, vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramp chimichurri

  1. AJ says:

    I’m jealous that you were able to forage ramps! What a great part of the experience. And I love the idea of a Ramp Chimichurri. My Argentine friends would love it!

    • Scott says:

      Thanks, AJ! I enjoyed your post on ramps, by the way. I might fry some up with eggs tomorrow morning. Thanks for the idea. I’m happy to have found a small undiscovered patch close by. It makes it feel that much more like spring to find them popping up in the woods. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

