Cassoulet, Part 3: garlic sausage

Okay, this is a quick one.  Following the same general process for fresh sausages as I wrote about here, I made a 4 lb batch of garlic sausage this afternoon for the cassoulet.  I didn’t stray far from Ruhlman’s master recipe for garlic sausage from Charcuterie, although I used less black pepper because I ran out, and I used white wine instead of red.  I’m pretty happy with how the sausages turned out.  In addition to tasting a small patty after mixing, I also had one link blowout during stuffing, so I obviously ate that one too.

fresh garlic sausage, all linked up

They’ll go into the Christmas Eve Cassoulet along with a few legs of duck confit, a pound and a half of pork belly, and some beans.  On those elements, most sources agree.  I’m setting aside some time tomorrow for final consultation of recipes, however.  Like the differences in cooking time for confit, it seems that everyone has their own authentic cassoulet recipe.  I’m pretty sure it’ll turn out alright, given the ingredients that go into it — a bubbly meaty stew with beans, sausage, bacon, and duck?  Yep, I’ll have that.

Fresh Garlic Sausage (4lb) adapted from Charcuterie (Ruhlman/Polcyn)

  • 4 lbs / 1.8 kg pork shoulder, cubed
  • 32 g kosher salt
  • 3 g black pepper
  • 44 g garlic, minced
  • 200 ml white wine, ice cold
About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in pork, recipes, sausages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cassoulet, Part 3: garlic sausage

  1. Pingback: Cassoulet: Assembly and the final dish | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

  2. Pingback: Adventures in Winter Smoking | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

  3. Pingback: Charcutepalooza Wrap-up: Back to Basics | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

  4. Pingback: Smoked-chicken pot pie | Smoke Cure Pickle Brew

Leave a Reply

