Happy Burns Night!

Some hae meat and canna eat,
And some wad eat that want it;
But we hae meat, and we can eat,
And sae the Lord be thankit.

The Selkirk Grace – 17th Century Blessing

Although sometimes attributed to Robert Burns, it seems that Burns may have been just quoting this traditional blessing when he delivered it at a dinner for the Earl of Selkirk in 1794.  Either way, it’s usually read as part of the opening of a Burns Supper (before the Address to a Haggis), on the anniversary of Burns’ birthday, January 25.  This blessing is familiar to me because a cross-stitched and framed panel of The Selkirk Grace hangs in my parents’ kitchen, as it was in my grandparents’ kitchen before that.

No haggis tonight, just a dram of Laphroaig here, but maybe we’ll work up a version of the “Great cheiftan o’ the puddin-race” for next year’s Burns Night, just so we can read the poem!  Now would that be considered Scottish charcuterie, a traditional highland forcemeat?  I think it would.

About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Burns Night!

  1. Celia says:

    Just stumbled across your blog through Charcutepalooza. I’m totally planning on making haggis next year. Just need to figure out where in NY I can find a full complement of sheep innards…Queens?

  2. Rick says:

    Happy BurnsDay Mr. Burns =))) if Here in Armenia they managed to find stuff for Haggis I thing in NY it will not be a problem, or maybe they brought the ready haggis from Scotland,,,, I am not sure, I was on Burns Supper here: http://blogs.fco.gov.uk/roller/lonsdale/

  3. Scott says:

    @Rick, that’s a good point! I’ll get an earlier start on it next year, and I’ve got recipes from Fergus Henderson and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall that should walk me through the process. I’m sure we can find some willing folks and a few kilts, so look for another post next January!

Leave a Reply

