Things We Might Try in the Near Future 6-24-11

The Paupered Chef’s Homemade Ginger Beer for Dark-n-Stormys. We’ve taken their brewing advice before, and are happy to try this one out soon.

Anything from Suvir Saran’s great cookbook American Masala. At home in recent weeks my wife has been steadily working her way through the book, and she’s made his Goan-style shrimp curry; spinach lasagna with roasted eggplant; spicy coconut and green chile stir-fried shrimp; creamy cauliflower and spinach soup; stir-fried cabbage with red peppers and peas; and my favorite so far, crab-and-salmon cakes. No surprise to hear that these are a huge hit at his restaurant Devi in NY.

Gluten-free Girl’s English Muffins. I mentioned her multigrain bread in the last post, and we’ve been using her recipes more and more, since my wife was diagnosed with Celiac earlier this spring. I love bread. We love bread. So it’s worth experimenting to find rolls, breads, and baked goods that really taste good, and we’re happy that Shauna has done so much experimenting already!

Some variation on one of Jason Molinari’s salame recipes; coming later this summer, thanks to a new small-fridge-curing-box experiment. Plus, I’ve got a hunch that a dried fermented sausage is coming somewhere down the line as a Charcutepalooza challenge. Might as well get a head start.

For the 4th of July, Ruhlman’s short rib Chicago Style hot dogs (link from eGullet discussion on variations in the recipe).

And maybe we can get Eric to post some new brewing recipes. I’d like to put in a request now for a Long Trail Double Bag or Young’s Oatmeal Stout clone!

About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in baking, books, brew, charcutepalooza, general, pork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things We Might Try in the Near Future 6-24-11

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    This looks like a very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    I love sharing recipes also. I believe everyone can enjoy them. You can get our recipes on Twitter.

    Try This Pasta Dinner Recipe

  2. Eric says:

    We’ve had “American Masala” for a while and the lemon chicken legs & thighs is a great recipe.
    As for some homebrewing…a clone of Rogue’s Shakespeare Stout is up next. It’ll be my second all-grain batch and I’m planning on brewing it on 7/22. If I can get Scott down here to be my assistant brewer there’s an even better chance of there being a post on it…

  3. Scott says:

    I love the Shakespeare Stout! I’ll see if I can make it on the 22nd. I’ll bring my camera, and we’ll document the whole process. It’s a good beer for a debut homebrewing post!

  4. Scott says:

    We’re also going to make that lemon chicken dish soon. I don’t know how I could have missed that, but lemon zest and sugar sounds great with crispy chicken skin. Soon.

Leave a Reply

