Pork Pie!

Well, I might be late to the Charcutepalooza party this month, but I come bearing pork pie, and that’s better than showing up empty handed!

Now there’s a story that my mom likes to tell, that when I was a kid I wouldn’t eat quiche because the name sounded funny. But knowing that I liked all the ingredients, she wisely (and simply) called it “cheese pie,” and everybody was happy. Not all of our food stories worked out so well, however, and there was an historic standoff involving an uneaten dinnertime tomato that found its way onto my breakfast plate (where it also went untouched), but that’s a whole different story. Now I happily eat quiche and tomatoes voluntarily (and green beans too. My, how far we’ve come!). So why the long story? Well, in putting together the English Pork Pie for this month’s Charcutepalooza challenge, I was struck by the fact that although I’ve made many of the recipes in Charcuterie, I had never tried this particular recipe before. I’m sure I’ve read it (or at least skimmed over it) a half dozen times. Maybe it has to do with the name, although there’s nothing about any part of “English Pork Pie” that’s not appetizing to me. I guess I’m just surprised that I hadn’t made it sooner. It was delicious. You could call it “Sausage Pie,” or “Sausage-quiche-without-the-egg,” “Meatloaf Pie” or just plain “Meat Pie“… But really, just make it. A savory crust (basic 3-2-1 pie crust; half butter, half lard; mix of AP and spelt flour); ground pork butt; tied together with onions, garlic, thyme, and a rich chicken stock. Next time I’ll use more thyme, and maybe throw in a handful of chopped parsley, and I’ll use some good gelled pork stock from cooking down pig’s ears. Other than that, I’d do it exactly the same way.

About Scott

occasionally-bearded teacher/musician/cook
This entry was posted in baking, charcutepalooza, pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pork Pie!

  1. Eric says:

    that looks incredible! i saw the aspic in the recipe and got a bit freaked out. did you skip that bit? a personal attempt at this might get me to end my long-standing feud with pastry…

  2. Scott says:

    I think I’m getting better at pastry. I was really happy with how the crust turned out, and glad that I added the spelt flour. I should have mentioned above that I relied more on the pie recipe from Ratio, and I roughly followed Alton’s technique from Good Eats S2E6 “Crust Never Sleeps”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ujc0XJIJitI

    I didn’t use the aspic this time (basically adding gelatin to stock) because the pie was ready just in time for dinner and we ate it hot. Otherwise I would have had to cool the pie down, add the aspic, then cool again to let it set, and we would have eaten around midnight.

Leave a Reply

